Wat Sisaket, Vientiane



This temple is a historical paradox, because it is both the oldest and the most recent temple of Vientiane.

Indeed, it was only built a few years before the arrival of the Siamese in the city at the beginning of the 19th century, and yet it is the oldest, because it was the only one not destroyed by the invaders. Vat Sisakhet was founded exactly on Thursday, March 4, 1819 by Chao Anou, the last king of Vientiane, also known as Anouvong.

At its foundation, it had a name of Pali origin - Wat Sattasahatsa Vihararama - which means the monastery of the one hundred thousand blessed. It is believed that it was renamed Vat Sisakhet by the first Laotians, who returned to Vientiane after their mass deportation on the right bank of the Mekong River and who, while inspecting the monastery, discovered this great image of the Buddha with his large head (sisa in pali) and the flame that surmounts it (ketu).

On the left, before the entrance to the cloister and directly onto Lane Xang Avenue, is the old temple library. The large cupboard previously contained many manuscripts on latana leaves. In passing, you will notice that the roof of the building (four-storey roof) is of Burmese inspiration.

Originally, the sim (or central sanctuary) and the cloister contained more than nine thousand images or statues of the Buddha evoking the miracle of Sravasti, where the Buddha multiplied his image to infinity. During the Siamese invasion, most of this wealth was looted and dispersed and, if the soldiers did not burn the monastery, it is, it seems, because it resembled the buildings of the new Siamese capital.

Today, more than 2,000 small Buddha statues are housed in small niches, dug in the inner enclosure wall of the vat.
Originally, the frescoes on the walls represented the epic story of Kalaket and his magic horse. As you walk through the courtyard, you will notice a shelter enclosed by metal bars, where very damaged and often decapitated Buddha statues are piled up: these are pieces that had to be cast to make weapons during the Lao-Siamese conflict of 1828.

Inside the sim, we find the tiny Buddha crypts. The sim is beautifully decorated with wall paintings that represent the history of Pookkharabat with its magic fan (the story begins behind the altar). Its wooden coffered ceiling is very strange and if it reminds you of your last visit to Versailles, it is not by chance.

Indeed, at the time of Louis XIV, Siam had an important delegation in France which, without a doubt, was influenced by the architecture of the 16th and 17th centuries in France. The pendants represent lotus flowers. The stone statue of the Buddha on the altar dates from the 13th century. Behind the sim, a long wooden naga is stored which is only used to pour lustral water (water the Buddhas) on the Buddha statues during the Pi May Lao (Lao New Year) festival. Vat Sisaket is certainly worth a visit.

 One of my favorite temples... the Vat Sisaket in Vientiane...



Inside the pagoda, the walls are decorated with superb polychrome frescoes depicting scenes from the Master's life.







These two photos have always been my favorite photos... 
The ochre and dark red colors, the green of the plants, the very old side of the masonry marked by the years, the original frame... this set gives to this temple an indescribable charm that I have rarely seen or felt elsewhere.

















Located at the extreme limit and even outside the Vat Sisakhet, the library, in Burmese style, contained manuscripts of inestimable value, destroyed during the city sacking

This small building has the particularity of being "straddling" the boundary of the enclosure. One half is inside, the other half... outside







 

 

Further explanations here:

More on Wikipedia

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Ce temple est un paradoxe historique, car il est à la fois le plus ancien et le plus récent temple de Vientiane.

En effet, il ne fut construit que quelques années seulement avant l'arrivée des Siamois dans la ville, au début du XIXe siècle, et il est pourtant le plus ancien, car il fut le seul à ne pas avoir été détruit par les envahisseurs. Le Wat Sisaket fut fondé très exactement le jeudi 4 mars 1819 par Chao Anou, le dernier roi de Vientiane, également connu sous le nom d'Anouvong.

A sa fondation, il portait un nom d'origine palie – Vat Sattasahatsa Vihararama – ce qui signifie le monastère des cent mille félicités. On pense qu'il fut rebaptisé Wat Sisaket par les premiers Laotiens, qui regagnèrent Vientiane après leur déportation massive sur la rive droite du Mékong et qui, en inspectant le monastère, découvrirent cette grande image du Bouddha avec sa grosse tête (sisa en pali) et la flamme qui la surmonte (ketu).

A gauche, avant l'entrée du cloître et donnant directement sur l'avenue Lane Xang, se trouve l'ancienne bibliothèque du temple. La grande armoire contenait auparavant de nombreux manuscrits sur feuilles de latanier. Au passage, vous noterez que la toiture de l'édifice (toiture à quatre niveaux) est d'inspiration birmane.

A l'origine, le sim (ou sanctuaire central) et le cloître contenaient plus de neuf mille images ou statues du Bouddha évoquant le miracle de Sravasti, où le Bouddha multiplia son image à l'infini. Lors de l'invasion siamoise, la majorité de ces richesses furent pillées et dispersées et, si les soldats ne brûlèrent pas le monastère, c'est, paraît-il, parce qu'il ressemblait aux édifices de la nouvelle capitale siamoise.

Aujourd'hui, plus de 2 000 petites statues de Bouddha sont abritées deux par deux dans des petites niches, creusées dans le mur d'enceinte intérieur du vat.

A l'origine, les fresques sur les murs représentaient l'épopée de Kalaket et son cheval magique. En parcourant la cour, vous remarquerez un abri clos par des barreaux de métal, où sont entassées des statues de Bouddha très abîmées, souvent décapitées : il s'agit de pièces qui devaient être fondues pour fabriquer des armes durant le conflit lao-siamois de 1828.

A l'intérieur du sim, on retrouve les minuscules cryptes à Bouddha. Le sim est admirablement décoré de peintures murales qui représentent l'histoire de Pookkharabat avec son éventail magique (l'histoire commence derrière l'autel). Son plafond à caissons en bois est des plus étranges et s'il vous rappelle votre dernière visite à Versailles, ce n'est pas un hasard.

En effet, à l'époque de Louis XIV, le Siam disposait d'une importante délégation en France qui, sans aucun doute, ne manqua pas d'être influencée par l'architecture des XVIe et XVIIe siècles français. Les pendentifs représentent des fleurs de lotus. La statue en pierre du Bouddha située sur l'autel date du XIIIe siècle. Derrière le sim, est entreposé un long naga en bois qui sert uniquement à verser de l'eau lustrale (arroser les bouddhas) sur les statues de Bouddha pendant la fête du Pi May lao (Nouvel An lao). Le Vat Sisaket mérite certainement une visite.

 Un de mes temples préférés... le Vat Sisaket à Vientiane

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane
A l'intérieur de la pagode, les murs décorés de superbes fresques polychromes représentants des scènes de la vie du Maître


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane
Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane
Ces deux photos ont toujours été mes photos préférées... 
Les couleurs ocre et rouge foncé, le vert des plantes, le côté très ancien des maçonneries marquées par les ans, la charpente d'origne... cet ensemble donne à ce temple un charme indescriptible que j'ai rarement vu ou ressentit ailleurs.
Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane

Située à l'extrême limite et même au-dehors du Vat Sisakhet, la bibliothèque, de style birman, contenait des manuscrits d'une valeur inestimable, détruits pendant le sac de la cité

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane

Ce petit bâtiment a la particularité de se trouver «à cheval» sur la limite de l'enceinte. Une moitié se trouve à l'intérieur, l'autre moitié... à l'extérieur

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane
Wat Sisaket, Vientiane


Wat Sisaket, Vientiane

Wat Sisaket, Vientiane

D'autres explicatoins ici:

Plus sur Wikipedia