Nai Harn Beach, Rawai

  Naiharn, facing south...

This magnificent beach is located at the extreme "South" of Phuket Island.
Many beach restaurants are located there and it is very pleasant to spend a good time there.

For me... I would say that this beach is one of the most beautiful in Phuket.

The slope is very gentle: children can have hours of fun there.

The large lake next door is a great place for walkers, joggers or even cyclists who enjoy their favourite pastimes early in the morning or early evening, just before sunset.

  The Phuket Beach Map

Welcome to Naiharn Beach

An aerial view of Naiharn Bay... on the other side, Rawai Beach and opposite: Koh Bon and Coral Island.


Naiharn is a superb beach, very busy of course during the season.
670 meters long, its gentle slope is a paradise for children.

 2014: the big upheaval on Phuket's beaches

Until 2014, this large shaded area, slightly set back and higher than the beach, was occupied by a large number of restaurants. People (holiday tourists but also residents) liked to come and eat a Khaopad Khai or a Chicken Cashew Nuts with a good cold drink. 

At the beginning of 2014 everything changed radically. The army, newly in power, cleared all the illegal installations on all the beaches of Phuket, the sun loungers which, it must be said, were in excess on this magnificent beach of Naiharn. the restaurants, the masseuses, the various small vendors, in short... from one day to the next, Naiharn changed from a dream beach to a ghost beach... The new rulers had the major intention to put the country back in order but the restrictions were so severe that even the holiday tourists couldn't bring their own umbrella to protect their young children... imagine the laments of the Scandinavians for their children with such white and sensitive skin who couldn't protect themselves from the violent and dangerous sun of Phuket.

Myself, who liked to come from time to time to have a little local dish with this sea just in front of us as a dream scenery, I found these decisions very violent and the disappearance of these small restaurants had really saddened us.

Since then, time has gone by, years have passed... and going to Naiharn recently to take some new pictures, I was pleased to see the very progressive return, slowly but surely, of some restaurants on this so pleasant part of the land.



This aerial view shows the impressive number of umbrella loungers on Naiharn beach until 2014. Nowadays, strict regulations have been put in place and this number has been considerably reduced...

2020 : Slow and progessive return of some restaurants...

A glimpse of Naiharn beach from the small road leading to Ao Sane

Nothing like a gentle massage at the end of the day

 Naiharn Beach and around

  Lake Naiharn


Of course, if you take a 10,000 km trip, walking around a lake when the sea is two steps away may seem rather absurd. I agree with that!

That said, we can see things differently and fully enjoy this charming place... some have understood it for a long time and many athletes of all levels, young and old, like walkers, joggers and other cyclists who come to wet their t-shirts!

In the morning, as soon as the sun rises, many enthusiasts attack their "lake tour" with great energy... the prevailing temperature is perfect for exercise and the surrounding calm is ideal for a beautiful start to a beautiful day. One more day in paradise!

Others prefer to exercise in the evening around 5pm... until nightfall... it depends.

A small islet that can be reached by crossing a small bridge offers picnicking, jogging, petanque and children... a well shaded and really very pleasant area. There are attractions for children, "pedal boats" to go for a walk on the lake, in short, an absolutely charming little corner.

A sign reminds us that it is forbidden to smoke and bring alcohol...

le Lac de Naiharn

As you can see on this view... the lake of Naiharn is located behind the beach... a few dozen meters away. A small adjustable dam system allows the lake to empty directly into the sea, forming like a small river (at the bottom of the picture) in which many children come to have fun.

 Lake Naiharn seen from above

Nai Harn Beach, Rawai

  Naiharn, plein sud...

naiharn beach rawai

Cette magnifique plage se trouve à l'extrême «Sud» de l'île de Phuket, à Rawai.

Je ne prendrai pas beaucoup de risques en disant que Naiharn est une des plus belles plages de Phuket.

La pente y est très douce: les enfants peuvent s'y amuser pendant des heures. Pas de Jet skis, pas de parachutes ascensionnels, pas de speedboats amenant le danger: cette plage est vraiment l'une des plus «confortables» 

Le grand lac juste à côté, est un endroit propice pour les marcheurs, les joggeurs ou même les cyclistes qui s'adonnent à leur passe-temps favori tôt le matin ou bien en fin d'après-midi lorsque le soleil tape moins fort.

  Le Plan des Plages de Phuket

Plages de Phuket

Bienvenue à Naiharn Beach

Naiharn Beach Rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai


naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai

Nai Harn est une superbe plage, très fréquentée bien entendu durant la saison.
Longue de 670 mètres, sa pente douce est un paradis pour les enfants

naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai

2014 : le grand chamboulement des plages de Phuket

Jusqu'en 2014, cette grande aire ombragée légèrement en retrait et en hauteur par rapport à la plage, était occupée par un grand nombre de restaurants. Les gens (touristes vacanciers mais aussi les résidents) aimaient venir manger un Khaopad Khai ou bien un Chicken Cashew Nuts avec une bonne boisson bien fraîche. 

Début 2014 tout changea radicalement. L'armée nouvellement au pouvoir, fit dégager toutes intallations illégales sur toutes les plages de Phuket, les chaises longues-parasols qui, il faut bien le reconnaître, étaient en surnombre sur cette magnifique plage de Naiharn. les restaurants, les masseuses, les petits vendeurs divers, bref... d'un jour à l'autre, Naiharn bascula de plage de rêve en plage fantôme... Les nouveaux gouvernants avaient comme intention majeure de remettre un peu d'ordre dans le pays mais les restrictons furent tellement sévères au point que même les touristes-vacanciers ne pouvaient plus apporter leur propre parasol pour protéger leurs enfants en bas-âge... imaginez les complaintes des scandinaves pour leurs enfants à la peau tellement blanche et sensible ne pouvant se protéger du soleil si violent, si dangereux de Phuket.

Moi même, qui aimais de temps à autre venir prendre un petit plat local avec cette mer juste en face comme décors de rêve, je trouvais ces décisions bien violentes et la disparition de ces petits restaurants nous avaient vraiment attristés.

Depuis, le temps a passé, les années se sont succédé... et faisant un tour à Naiharn récemment pour refaire quelques photos je constatais avec plaisir le retour très progressif, lentement mais sûrement, de quelques restaurants sur cette partie de terrain tellement agréable.


naiharn beach rawai
Sur cette vue aérienne, on peut constater le nombre impressionnant de chaises-longues parasols sur la plage de Naiharn jusqu'à 2014.
De nos jours, une réglementation stricte a été mise en place et ce nombre a considérablement été réduit...

2020 : Retour lent et progessif de quelques restaurants...

naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
Un aperçu de la plage de Naiharn depuis la petite route qui mène à Ao Sane
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai
naiharn beach rawai

Et rien de tel qu'un bon massage en douceur en fin de journée

 Naiharn Beach et autour

naiharn beach rawai

    Le Lac de Naiharn

Rawai Lake Naiharn

C'est sûr que si on fait un voyage de 10.000km, pour se promener autour d'un lac alors que la mer est à deux pas peut paraître assez absurde. J'en conviens !

Cela dit, on peut voir les choses différemment et profiter pleinement de ce coin si charmant... certains l'ont bien compris depuis longtemps et nombreux sont les sportifs de tous niveaux, jeunes et moins jeunes, comme les marcheurs, les joggeurs et autres cyclistes qui viennent mouiller leur t-shirt !

Le matin, dès le lever du soleil bon nombre d'amateurs attaquent leurs «tour du lac» avec une belle énergie... la température régnante est parfaite pour faire de l'exercice et le calme environnant est idéal pour démarrer en beauté une belle journée. One more day in paradise !

D'autres préfèrent s'exercer le soir vers 17 heures... jusqu'à la tombée de la nuit... c'est selon.

Un petit îlot que l'on peut atteindre en franchissant un petit pont offre pour le plus grand plaisir des piqueniqueurs, joggeurs, pétanquistes et enfants... une zone bien ombragée et vraiment très agréable. On y trouve des attractions pour les enfants, des «pédalos» pour aller se promener sur le lac, bref, un petit coin absolument charmant.

Un panneau rappelle qu'il est interdit d'y fumer et d'y amener de l'alcool...


le Lac de Naiharn

Rawai Lake Naiharn
Comme vous pouvez le constater sur cette vue... le lac de Naiharn se situe en arrière de la plage... à quelques dizaines de mètres. Un petit système de barrage réglable permet au lac de se vider directement dans la mer en formant comme une petite rivière (au bas de la photo) dans laquelle bon nombre d'enfants viennent s'amuser.
Rawai Lake Naiharn
Rawai Lake Naiharn
Rawai Lake Naiharn
Rawai Lake Naiharn
Rawai Lake Naiharn

 Le Lac de Naiharn vue d'en-haut

Rawai Lake Naiharn