Sukhothai, Historical Park

  Sukhothai Morning and Evening...


SUKHOTHAI, is located about 440km north of Bangkok.

This magnificent historical park of Sukhothai is so vast, (2km x 1.6km) that on foot it becomes, with the heat, a real marathon, not to mention that several temples are located outside the park (Wat Si Chum for example) which only increases the distance to cover.

The visitor, however, will have the possibility to rent a bicycle for a few bahts, much more practical to cover the distances between the different buildings.

So, in addition to discovering magnificent ruins in the middle of a green and often shady park, the bike ride is even more pleasant.

The historical park of Sukhothai is the historical heritage of Thailand which could go back to the dawn of the kingdom. Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the ancient city of Sukhothai was the ancient capital of the Kingdom of Thailand and has been praised for its prosperity. Known as an administrative, religious and economic center, the Sukhothai Historical Park consists of these remarkable places

 The best time...

For those who are a little interested in photography, I won't teach them that the two best times to photograph are : early in the morning, or later in the afternoon.

The midday sun should be avoided: too bright light, no shadows, no perspective...

This time, I stayed a few minutes away from the historical site, and I took the opportunity to take two shots: one in the morning, another in the evening...

You should also know that these temples are generally built towards the East, which means that for most of them, it is better to be early in the morning.

Sukhothai is an exception in the sense that, this historical park being so vast, so varied, there is always the possibility to bring back beautiful and successful pictures whether it is in the morning or in the evening...

So I started to photograph from 8h00 to 10h00... then from 16h00 to 18h30...

A good series of photos taken in Sukhothai Historical Park in the early morning....
Some of them may be a little repetitive... but I have trouble eliminating them...

The visit of the Park on a bike... a really pleasant ride! 

Whether you visit the site in the morning or in the evening, you can rent a bike... 
30 bahts a day (about 1€) and you are ready to ride through the alleys and stretches of this superb site that is Sukhothai. Most of the small roads to go from one temple to another are asphalt. A really pleasant walk to do.
An advantage which cannot be taken advantage of by groups of tourists who come by bus...

Take a bike ride in such a prestigious park and in complete freedom....
an excellent time to share with your family....
Sukhothai Historical Park


So here I am at 8:30 a.m... but I'm not alone!

Many groups of tourists follow one another. Arrived by coach, they already go through the park with a guide...

The first operation consists (for me) in "spotting" their circuit... to anticipate and to move away from it so that I would have "clean" pictures without having onlookers in the background, which is never very happy, but it happens that you can't avoid this kind of situation.

The park being so spacious, this mission becomes very easy.

Sukhothai Historical Park
More...

This historical park of Sukhothai is so extensive that it was impossible for me to take pictures of all the temples that make up this park. I'm presenting only a part of them here.


 Sukhothai, in the morning...

Sukhothai Historical Park
  Wat Mahathat
Wat Mahathat is located in the central area, in the centre of the old walled city. It was the largest and most important temple of the empire, located next to the Royal Palace.
The name of the temple is translated as "Temple of the Great Relic". The temple was built according to the concept of the mandala, an ancient Hindu symbol representing the universe.
Wat Mahathat was founded by Sri Indraditya, the first king of the Sukhothai Empire in the 13th century. A small temple with a fist, it was enlarged and renovated several times by the following kings.
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
  Other structures of Wat Mahathat

The very large Buddha statues were popular in the time of Sukhothai. Two mondops flanking the main chedi consecrate a 12-metre high standing statue of the Buddha, known as Phra Attharot. Another mondop contains a large stucco image of the Buddha in meditation mudra, seated on a pedestal.

Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Historical Park
  Wat Sa Si 

Wat Sa Si temple is located a few hundred meters northwest of Wat Mahathat, in the central area inside the old walled city. Its location on a small island in the middle of the pond of Tra Phang Tra Kuan filled with lotus flowers makes it one of the most attractive monuments in the Sukhothai Historical Park.
According to the texts of one of the stone inscriptions found in Sukhothai, Wat Sa Si was founded towards the end of the 14th century. The small temple consists of a main chedi, another smaller chedi, a viharn, an ubosot and a picture of a walking Buddha in Sukhothai style.

Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  Wat Si Chum
In the northern zone, outside the walled city, is the Wat Si Chum temple, known for its mondop with a large image of the Buddha partially visible from the outside. The name of the temple translates as "Temple of the Bodhi Tree". Bodhi trees are found in many temples in Thailand, because it is under this tree that the Buddha meditated when he attained enlightenment.
An ancient stone inscription found in the mondop of Wat Si Chum gives information about the foundation of the kingdom of Sukhothai.
The 13th century temple includes a mondop and a viharn. The viharn or assembly hall, of which only the base and rows of pillars remain, is located in front of the mondop.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
The brick roof of the Mondops has collapsed. A staircase in the three metre thick walls of the mondop (closed to visitors) leads to the top of the structure. The ceiling of the staircase contained drawings carved into 14th century slate plates depicting scenes from the Jataka tales, the stories of the Buddha's past lives. Buddhist devotees could climb the narrow staircase and watch the representations to learn more about Buddhism. The slabs were removed for safekeeping and are now in the National Museum in Ramkhamhaeng.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  Legend of the image of the Talking Buddha
The image of Phra Achana is also known as Phra Pood Dai, which translates as "the Buddha who speaks". During the reign of King Naresuan, in the second half of the 16th century, many wars were fought with the Burmese.

Legend has it that at one time, before a battle, the king wanted to raise the morale of his troops. On his orders, one of his soldiers climbed the narrow stairs of the mondop where the image of the Buddha is located, without the other soldiers noticing, and gave a speech to the troops. The acoustics of the small space and the fact that the speaker could not be seen led the soldiers to believe that it was the image of the Buddha speaking to them. Another version of the story says that the Burmese armies fled in fear as they approached the image.

Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  The statue of Buddha Phra Achana
The roofless mondop building houses a huge Buddha image in the Sukhothai style called Phra Achana. The stucco brick image is found in the Bhumisparsha mudra, also known as "Calling the Earth to Witness". Phra Achana is the largest image of Buddha in the Sukhothai style, measuring 15 meters high and 11 meters wide. The Sukhothai-style image, with a serene facial expression, occupies all the space inside the mondop. In the centre of the mondop is an opening of decreasing size towards the top, through which the image can be seen from the outside.
Phra Achana translates as "He who is not afraid". The name of the image is known thanks to a stone inscription that was discovered during excavations at Wat Si Chum. The right hand of the image is covered with gold leaf, put there by Buddhist devotees who come to pay homage to the Buddha. The image was restored by the Thai Department of Fine Arts in the 1950s.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
Sukhothai Historical Park
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum

 Sukhothai... in the afternoon, at night...

Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Here we are in the afternoon (4:30 pm)... the sun has gone down and the more orange light gives these ruins a much softer and more pleasant appearance. The heat tends to fade somewhat, the walk becomes a real pleasure.
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat

   Sukhothai the Evening 

Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat


In the course of my visits to this great historical park, I came across this Chinese photographer several times. We greeted each other briefly, and then each continued his tour on his own side...

Arrived at night, once I had put away my equipment, I decided to have dinner in a small local restaurant close to the park.

As if by chance, I met there my Chinese photographer who had the same idea as me... quickly we exchanged big smiles. Impossible to communicate because he didn't speak a word of English. Ah, the language barrier...

At one point he handed me his camera, then, understanding that he wanted to take a look at my photos, I handed him my camera to exchange. I was looking at his pictures... him, mine... it was nice.

The meal ended without being able to exchange a single word... just a few hand gestures, smiles and then that was it. It's a shame.


Water Lily or Lotus ... not easy to distinguish


Lotus flower or water lily?

Not easy to tell one from the other...

These two flowers are not part of the same family. The lotus has the leaves above the water and the water lily at water level.

The petals of the water lilies are elongated and pointed, while those of the lotus are more round and voluptuous.

The leaves are also different: round and serrated for the water lily, with a green bladder colour and an almost waxy texture, the water lily leaf lets the water slide. 

The lotus leaf is "peeled": perfectly circular, with the petiole fixed in the centre (on the reverse side of the leaf, of course). There are no slits to allow the rain to drain off. Instead, the leaf is hydrophobic and the raindrops bead on its surface and then run off from the margin, pushed by the wind. Leaves are floating early in the season, but those that form later rise above the water on solid petioles.

So I've come to the conclusion that the flowers seen on these bodies of water are... water lilies...


 Location

Sukhothai, Parc Historique

  Sukhothai, du matin au soir...

Sukhothai

SUKHOTHAI, se situe à environ 440km au nord de Bangkok

Ce magnifique parc historique de Sukhothai est tellement vaste, ( 2km x 1.6km) qu'à pied cela devient, avec la chaleur, un véritable marathon, sans compter que plusieurs temples se situent à l'extérieur du parc (Wat Si Chum par exemple) ce qui ne fait qu'augmenter la distance à parcourir.

Le visiteur cependant, aura la possibilité de louer pour quelques bahts un vélo, bien plus pratique pour parcourir les distances séparant les différents édifices.

Donc, en plus de découvrir de magnifiques ruines au milieu d'un parc verdoyant et souvent ombragé, la balade à vélo n'en est que plus agréable.

Le parc historique de Sukhothai est le patrimoine historique de la Thaïlande qui pourrait remonter à l'aube du royaume. Classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, l'ancienne ville de Sukhothai était l'ancienne capitale du Royaume de Thaïlande et a été louée pour sa prospérité. Connu comme un centre administratif, religieux et économique, le parc historique de Sukhothai se compose de ces lieux remarquables

 Les meilleurs moments photo...

Pour ceux qui s'intéressent un peu à la photo, je ne leur apprendrai pas que les deux meilleurs moments pour photographier sont:
tôt le matin, ou alors plus tard en fin d'après-midi.

Le soleil de midi est à éviter: lumière trop vive, pas d'ombres, pas de perspective...

Logeant cette fois-ci à quelques minutes du site historique, j'en ai profité pour faire deux prises: une le matin, une autre le soir...

Il faut savoir aussi que ces temples sont généralement construits vers l'Est ce qui veut dire que pour la plupart de ces temples, il vaut mieux être matinal.

Sukhothai est une exception dans le sens où, ce parc historique étant tellement vaste, tellement varié, qu'il y a toujours possibilité de ramener de belles photos réussies que ce soit le matin ou le soir...

J'ai donc commencé à photographier de 8h00 à 10h00... puis de 16h00 à 18h30

Une bonne série de photos prises dans le parc historique de Sukhothai au petit matin...
Certaines sont peut-être quelque peu répétitives... mais j'ai du mal à les éliminer...

La visite du Parc Historique :  à vélo, la solution idéale ! 

sukhothai
Que vous visitiez le site le matin ou le soir, vous pouvez louer un vélo... 
30 bahts la journée ( environ 1€ ) et vous voila parés pour parcourir les allées et les étendues de ce site superbe qu'est Sukhothai. La plupart des petites routes pour aller d'un temple à l'autre sont en asphalte. Une balade vraiment agréable à faire.
Un avantage dont ne peuvent pas profiter les groupes de touristes venus en bus...
sukhothai
sukhothai
sukhothai
Faire une balade à vélo dans un parc aussi prestigieux et en toute liberté...
un excellent moment à partager en famille...
Sukhothai Parc Historique


Me voici donc sur place à 8h30... mais je ne suis pas seul !
De nombreux groupes de touristes se succèdent. Arrivés par autocars, ils parcourent déjà le parc flanqués d'un guide...

La première opération consiste (pour moi) de «repérer» leur circuit... d'anticiper et de m'en éloigner ainsi j'aurais des photos «propres» sans avoir de badauds en toile de fond, ce qui n'est jamais très heureux, mais il arrive qu'on ne puisse éviter ce genre de situation.

Le parc étant tellement spacieux, cette mission devient très facile.

Sukhothai Parc Historique
Suite...

Ce parc historique de Sukhothai est tellement étendu qu'il m'était impossible de prendre en photo tous les temples constituant ce parc. Je vous en présente ici, une partie seulement.

 Sukhothai, le matin...

Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
  Wat Mahathat
Le Wat Mahathat est situé dans la zone centrale, au centre de la vieille ville fortifiée. C'était le plus grand et le plus important temple de l'empire, situé à côté du Palais Royal.
Le nom du temple se traduit par "temple de la Grande Relique". Le temple a été construit selon le concept du mandala, un ancien symbole hindou représentant l'univers.
Le Wat Mahathat a été fondé par Sri Indraditya, le premier roi de l'empire Sukhothai au 13ème siècle. Petit temple au poing, il a été agrandi et rénové plusieurs fois par les rois suivants.
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat

Autres structures du Wat Mahathat

Les très grandes statues du Bouddha étaient populaires à l'époque de Sukhothai. Deux mondops flanquant le chedi principal consacrent une statue du Bouddha debout de 12 mètres de haut, connue sous le nom de Phra Attharot. Un autre mondop contient une grande image en stuc du Bouddha en mudra de méditation, assis sur un piédestal.
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Wat Mahathat
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Wat Sa Si
  Wat Sa Si 
Le temple Wat Sa Si se trouve à quelques centaines de mètres au nord-ouest du Wat Mahathat, dans la zone centrale à l'intérieur de la vieille ville fortifiée. Son emplacement sur une petite île au milieu de l'étang de Tra Phang Tra Kuan rempli de fleurs de lotus en fait l'un des monuments les plus attrayants du parc historique de Sukhothai.
D'après les textes d'une des inscriptions sur pierre découvertes à Sukhothai, le Wat Sa Si a été fondé vers la fin du 14ème siècle. Le petit temple se compose d'un chedi principal, d'un autre chedi plus petit, d'un viharn, d'un ubosot et d'une image de Bouddha marchant de style Sukhothai.
Sukhothai Wat Sa Si
Sukhothai Wat Sa Si
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  Wat Si Chum
Dans la zone nord, à l'extérieur de la ville fortifiée, se trouve le temple Wat Si Chum, connu pour son mondop avec une grande image du Bouddha partiellement visible de l'extérieur. Le nom du temple se traduit par "temple de l'arbre de la Bodhi". On trouve des arbres de la Bodhi dans de nombreux temples en Thaïlande, car c'est sous cet arbre que le Bouddha méditait lorsqu'il atteignait l'illumination.
Une ancienne inscription en pierre trouvée dans le mondop du Wat Si Chum donne des informations sur la fondation du royaume de Sukhothai.
Le temple du 13ème siècle comprend un mondop et un viharn. Le viharn ou salle d'assemblée, dont il ne reste que la base et les rangées de piliers, se trouve devant le mondop.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
Le toit en briques du Mondops s'est effondré. Un escalier dans les murs de trois mètres d'épaisseur du mondop (fermé aux visiteurs) mène au sommet de la structure. Le plafond de l'escalier contenait des dessins gravés dans des plaques d'ardoise du 14ème siècle représentant des scènes des contes du Jataka, les histoires des vies antérieures du Bouddha. Les fidèles bouddhistes pouvaient monter l'étroit escalier et regarder les représentations pour en savoir plus sur le bouddhisme. Les dalles ont été retirées pour être mises en sécurité et se trouvent maintenant au musée national de Ramkhamhaeng.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  Légende de l'image du Bouddha parlant
L'image du Phra Achana est également connue sous le nom de Phra Pood Dai, qui se traduit par "le Bouddha qui parle". Sous le règne du roi Naresuan, dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, de nombreuses guerres ont été menées avec les Birmans.
Selon la légende, à une certaine époque, avant une bataille, le roi voulait remonter le moral de ses troupes. Sur ses ordres, un de ses soldats a monté l'étroit escalier du mondop où se trouve l'image du Bouddha, sans que les autres soldats ne s'en aperçoivent, et a prononcé un discours devant les troupes. L'acoustique du petit espace et le fait que l'orateur ne pouvait pas être vu ont fait croire aux soldats que c'était l'image du Bouddha qui leur parlait. Une autre version de l'histoire raconte que les armées birmanes ont fui de peur en s'approchant de l'image.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
  La statue du Bouddha Phra Achana
Le bâtiment mondop sans toit abrite une immense image de Bouddha de style sukhothai appelée Phra Achana. L'image en stuc de brique se trouve dans le mudra Bhumisparsha, également connu sous le nom de "Appel à la Terre pour qu'elle témoigne". Le Phra Achana est la plus grande image de Bouddha dans le style Sukhothai, mesurant 15 mètres de haut et 11 mètres de large. L'image de style Sukhothai, avec une expression faciale sereine, occupe tout l'espace de l'intérieur du mondop. Au centre du mondop se trouve une ouverture de taille décroissante vers le haut, à travers laquelle l'image peut être vue de l'extérieur.
Phra Achana se traduit par "Celui qui n'a pas peur". Le nom de l'image est connu grâce à une inscription en pierre qui a été découverte lors de fouilles au Wat Si Chum. La main droite de l'image est recouverte de feuilles d'or, mises là par des dévots bouddhistes qui viennent rendre hommage au Bouddha. L'image a été restaurée par le département des beaux-arts thaïlandais dans les années 1950.
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum
Sukhothai Wat Si Chum

 Sukhothai... l'après-midi, le soir...

Sukhothai
Nous voici dans l'après-midi (16h30)... le soleil est descendu et la lumière plus orangée donne à ces ruines des aspects bien plus doux et agréables. La chaleur a tendance à s'estomper quelque peu, la balade devient un réel plaisir.
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai Parc Historique
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai
Sukhothai


Au cours de mes allées venues dans ce grand parc historique, j'ai croisé plusieurs fois ce photographe chinois. Nous nous sommes salués brièvement, puis chacun a continué son circuit de son côté...

Arrivé la nuit, une fois rangé mon matériel, je décidais d'aller dîner dans un petit restaurant tout à fait local à deux pas du parc.

J'y retrouvais comme par hasard mon photographe chinois qui avait eu la même idée que moi... rapidement nous échangions de grands sourires. Impossible de communiquer car il ne parlait pas un mot d'anglais. Ah cette barrière des langues...

A moment donné il me tendit son appareil, puis, comprenant qu'il voulait jeter un coup d'oeil à mes photos, je lui tendais mon appareil pour échanger. Je visionnais ses photos... lui, les miennes.. c'était sympa.

Le repas se termina sans pouvoir échanger le moindre mot... juste quelques gestes avec les mains, des sourires et puis c'est tout. Dommage.


Sukhothai
Sukhothai

Nenupahr ou Lotus... pas facile à distinguer

Sukhothai

Fleur de Lotus ou Nenuphar ?

Pas facile à distinguer l'une de l'autre...

Ces deux fleurs ne font pas partie de la même famille. Le lotus a les feuilles au-dessus de l’eau et le nénuphar au niveau de l’eau.

Les pétales des nénuphars sont allongées et pointues alors que celles des lotus sont plus rondes et voluptueuses.

Les feuilles sont également différentes : rondes et dentelées pour le nénuphar, D’une couleur vert de vessie et d’une texture presque cirée, la feuille de nénuphar laisse glisser l’eau. 

La feuille du lotus est «peltée»: parfaitement circulaire, avec le pétiole fixé au centre (à l’envers de la feuille, bien sûr). Il n’y a pas de fente pour permettre à la pluie de s’en drainer. À la place, la feuille est hydrophobe et les gouttes de pluie perlent à sa surface pour ensuite s’écouler de la marge, poussées par le vent. Les feuilles sont flottantes en début de saison, mais celles qui se forment plus tard se dressent au-dessus de l’eau sur des pétioles solides.

J'en suis donc arrivé à la conclusion que les fleurs que l'on aperçoit sur ces étendues d'eau sont... des Nénuphars

sukhothai

 Plan de Situation