Chinatown, Bangkok

Chinatown in Bangkok, it is necessary to go there at least once... if only to discover this large typical district, noisy, deafening in places, impressive but nevertheless attracting and arousing many curiosities.

It's 9:30 am, the sun has been high for quite a while.  The green and yellow air-conditioned taxi that we took at random half an hour earlier, drops us off on Yaowarat Road in the heart of Chinatown.

We are directly plunged in the heart of a real anthill ... The traffic on the boulevard is dense, noisy and the heavy heat that knocks us out after a few minutes of walking, already makes us sweat a lot.

Sneaking through the alleys, leaving behind us the busy boulevard's bustle, we find ourselves in places where people move by the hundreds, in silence. We find ourselves completely immersed in the heart of this commercial district, with its shops, vegetable, fruit and hardware vendors...

Here, no shoving, no shouting, no selfies in the face... we are in a kind of silent anthill, or almost, where only buyers and sellers communicate as in all the markets of the world.

A great moment...


   Jewellery stores


Yaowarat Road is the jewelers' street and is said to have the highest concentration of gold in Southeast Asia. All kinds of jewellery: necklaces, bracelets, rings, medallions, pendants. All this gold is presented in red shops, which gives it a beautiful glow.

  Yoawarat Boulevard

Dozens of stores selling everything from car parts, tires, food and costume jewellery (wholesale and retail), hardware, Chinese lanterns and calendars (before the vegetarian festival and Chinese New Year), medicinal plants and teas, noodles of all kinds, gadgets, fashion bags and accessories, shoes, etc..
Along the boulevard, there are also many street vendors...
A view of Yaowarat Road in full activity, and full of colors.
Fruit seller on Yaowarat

  The small alleys

We leave Yaowarat to slip into the perpendicular alleys, where the shops where everything is located are swarming.
We believe we are safe from traffic by walking through these alleys...
But tuk tuk tuk with their characteristic sound will remind you of them.

Chinatown, Bangkok

Chinatown Bangkok

Chinatown à Bangkok, il faut s'y rendre au moins une fois... ne serait-ce que pour découvrir ce grand quartier typique, bruyant, assourdissant par endroits, impressionnant mais attirant néanmoins et suscitant bon nombre de curiosités.

Il est 9h30, le soleil est bien haut depuis un bon moment.  Le taxi vert et jaune climatisé que nous avons pris au hasard une demi-heure plus tôt, nous dépose sur Yaowarat Road en plein cœur de Chinatown.

Nous nous trouvons directement plongés au cœur d'une véritable fourmilière... Le trafic sur le boulevard est dense, bruyant et la chaleur pesante qui nous assomme après quelques minutes de balade, nous fait déjà transpirer à grosses gouttes.

En nous faufilant dans les ruelles, laissant derrière nous le bouquant du grand boulevard surchargé, nous nous retrouvons dans des endroits où les gens se déplacent par centaines, en silence. Nous nous trouvons complètement plongés dans le cœur de ce quartier commercial, avec ses boutiques, ses vendeurs de légumes, de fruits, de quincaillerie…

Ici, pas de bousculades, pas de cris, pas de coups de selfies dans la figure... nous sommes dans une sorte de fourmilière silencieuse ou presque, où seuls les acheteurs et les vendeurs communiquent comme sur tous les marchés du monde.

Un grand moment…

  Les Bijouteries...

Chinatown Bangkok
Yaowarat Road est la rue des bijoutiers et posséderait la plus grande concentration d’or d’Asie du Sud-Est. Tous les bijoux possibles et imaginables : colliers, bracelets, bagues, médaillons, pendentifs. Tout cet or est présenté dans des boutiques de couleur rouge, qui lui donne un bel éclat.
Chinatown Bangkok

  Le Boulevard Yoawarat

Chinatown Bangkok
Des dizaines de magasins qui vendent de tout, des pièces de voitures, des pneus, de l’alimentation et des bijoux fantaisie (gros et détail), de la quincaillerie, des lanternes chinoises et des calendriers chinois (avant le festival végétarien et le Nouvel An chinois), des plantes médicinales et des thés, des nouilles de toutes sortes, des gadgets, des sacs et des accessoires de mode, des chaussures, etc..

Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Le long du boulevard, on trouve aussi bon nombre de vendeurs ambulants...
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Un aperçu de Yaowarat Road en plain activité, et pleine de couleurs
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Une vendeuse de fruits sur Yaowarat
Chinatown Bangkok

  Les petites ruelles...

Chinatown Bangkok
Nous quittons Yaowarat Road pour nous enfiler dans les ruelles perpendiculaires, où grouillent les boutiques où tout se trouve.
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
On croit être à l'abri du trafic en avançant dans ces ruelles...
Chinatown Bangkok
Mais les tuk tuk avec leur bruit caractéristique vous rappellent à leur bon souvenir.
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok
Chinatown Bangkok