Sathorn, Bangkok

  Chong Nonsi, Sathorn, Sunday morning...

On this Sunday around noon, the BTS of Bangkok and more particularly the BTS of Chong Nonsi is relatively quiet... it must be said that today, October 13, it is the anniversary of the death of the king and that the temples are full to bursting... I take this opportunity to make this small tour in Sathorn, a very modern district of Bangkok.

We leave on foot, the station BTS Chong Nonsi because I have spotted 3 places to photograph which are all in the same area, great, it saves my poor aging legs...

We are here :     BTS Station Chong Nonsi, Sathorn  



   Sathorn and its skycrapers...

First place to photograph... the ark of Chong Nonsi... which, at the time I take this picture, is precisely in my back. 

Sathorn Avenue is bounded by two parts, Sathorn North and Sathorn South. The northern part of the avenue begins at the southern end of the huge Lumpini Park, a real Central Park in Bangkok that offers a green area in the middle of skyscrapers. Sathorn Road, a very wide avenue, is the most famous in the capital, served at the northern end by the MRT (underground metro) and by the BTS (aerial metro) station in Chong Nonsi on the border between Sathorn North and Sathorn South.

Sathorn Avenue is bordered by office buildings, investment banks (RBS, Merryl[BK-Sathornroad] Lynch), very high-end residential buildings (The Met) and embassies (Germany, Australia, Singapore). The boundary between Sathorn North and South is at the intersection where an arch dominates which allows access to the BTS Chong Nonsi station. Near this arch, many office buildings are located, including the Empire Tower, one of Bangkok's symbols. Near the BTS station, Bangkok's sky is dominated by the Mahanakorn, a 314-metre skyscraper with revolutionary architecture.

   The Ark of Chong Nonsi

The BTS took us to Chong Nonsi in the heart of this Sathorn district.

In a few seconds of walking, we see the arch that I wanted to discover and be heard... take a picture. A very contemporary architecture that fits very well with the environment of all these ultra modern buildings....

This structure is not exceptional, does not represent much and is not likely to be among the city's top architectural achievements.

Large, curved metal tubes, connected together by other tubes. It's nothing more... or less... than a huge ordinary metal construction, but the very modern style finally fits very well in this context and on the photo side, I must admit that the result is still not bad. 

I'm not disappointed with my trip.

Sathorn Square Building and its surprising glass roof.......

From the BTS station in Chong Nonsi, you can see the Sathorn Square Building. It is a 41-storey office building located at the corner of the Sathorn-Narathiwas Crossroads, Bang Rak District, near Chong Nonsi Station, covering an area of 75,000 square metres, divided into 3 parts, which are stores and facilities on floors 1 to 3, offices on floors 4 to 38. From the 39th to the 40th floor is the Shelawi restaurant.

The building itself is nothing exceptional... but I had the idea to take a closer look at this strange glass construction which could well look like a fuse point... or even shells....  From the outside like that, I would say that this canopy is not ugly and I find that the nicely rounded shape adds a little fantasy and variation to this very rigid area.... 

Curious, I'm going to go for a walk inside....

This is the second point I had planned to photograph....

A few tables and armchairs are there, and you can enjoy a coffee in this place managed by the American chain Starbucks...

as you look up... the view becomes really fun.

  The House On Sathorn...

The House On Stahorn is a large and beautiful house about 130 years old. Built in 1889, 
In 1924, the house was transformed into a "Hôtel Royal" hotel and in 1934, it was renamed "Hôtel Thailand". Later in the years 1948-1999, it became the Russian Embassy for more than 51 years and in 2000, the Department of Fine Arts studied and organized a building for architectural conservation.

Nowadays, this house is part of the "W Bangkok". 

W completely renovated the building and transformed it into a restaurant and bar under the name The House on Sathorn.

Lost in the middle of Bangkok's skyscrapers in this business district, this old house adds warmth, a certain romanticism, even a breath of fresh air.  

 King Power Mahanakhon : wink

King Power Maha Nakhon was Thailand's tallest skyscraper until the record was broken on April 8, 2018 by Magnolias Waterfront Residences in Icon Siam (height 318.95 meters).

It is currently the 2nd tallest building in Thailand with a height of 314.2 meters, composed of 78 floors and composed of hotels, shops and apartments.

At the very top, on the 78th floor, you will find a "Roof Top" offering an extraordinary view of the city and also a glass platform to walk over the void.

At the end of the article, you will find a video showing you this famous roof top, what you can do there, what you can see there...

From the ground... level 0.00, I was able to take this picture that shows you the Sky Walk

   The top roof of the pixelated tower...

Sathorn / Bangkok

  Chong Nonsi, Sathorn, dimanche matin...

bangkok-sathorn

En ce dimanche aux alentours de midi, le BTS de Bangkok et plus particulièrement la sation BTS de Chong Nonsi est relativement calme... il faut dire qu'aujourd'hui 13 octobre, c'est l'anniversaire de la mort du roi et que les temples sont pleins à craquer... j'en profite pour faire ce petit tour à Sathorn, un quartier très moderne de Bangkok.

Nous quittons à pied, la station BTS Chong Nonsi car j'ai repéré 3 endroits à photographier qui se trouvent tous dans le même secteur, super, ça économise mes pauvres jambes vieillissantes...

Nous nous trouvons ici:     Station BTS Chong Nonsi  


   Sathorn et ses gratte-ciel...

bangkok-sathorn

Premier endroit à photographier... l'arche de Chong Nonsi... qui, au moment où je prends ce cliché, se trouve précisément dans mon dos. 

L’avenue Sathorn est délimitée entre deux parties, Sathorn nord et Sathorn sud. La partie nord de l’avenue commence à l’extrémité sud de l’immense parc Lumpini, véritable Central Park de Bangkok qui offre une aire de verdure au milieu des gratte-ciels. Sathorn Road, avenue très large, est la plus célèbre de la capitale, desservie à l’extrémité nord par le MRT (métro souterrain) et par la station BTS (métro aérien) de Chong Nonsi à la limite entre Sathorn nord et Sathorn Sud.

L’avenue Sathorn est bordée par des immeubles de bureaux, des banques d’affaires (RBS, Merryl  [BK-Sathornroad] Lynch), des immeubles résidentiels très haut de gamme (The Met) et par des ambassades (Allemagne, Australie, Singapour). La limite entre Sathorn nord et sud se trouve au niveau de l’intersection où domine une arche qui permet l’accès à la station de BTS Chong Nonsi. Près de cette arche, de nombreux immeubles de bureaux sont implantés, dont l’Empire Tower, l’un des symbôles de Bangkok. Près de la station BTS, le ciel de Bangkok est dominé par le Mahanakorn, gratte-ciel de 310 mètres à l’architecture révolutionnaire.

   L'Arche de Chong Nonsi

bangkok-sathorn

Le BTS nous a amené à Chong Nonsi en plein coeur de ce quartier de Sathorn.

En quelques secondes de marche, nous apercevons l'arche que je souhaitais découvrir et bein entendu... prendre en photo. Une architecture bien contemporaine qui cadre très bien avec l'environnement de tous ces buildings ultra modernes...

bangkok-sathorn

Cette structure n'a rien d'exceptionnel, ne représente pas grand chose et ne risque pas de figurer dans le top des réalisations architecturales de la ville. 

De gros tubes métalliques, cintrés, reliés entre eux par d'autres tubes. Ce n'est ni plus... ni moins... qu'une énorme construction métallique banale, mais le style très moderne finalement, cadre très bien dans ce contexte et du côté photo, je dois reconnaître que le résultat est tout de même pas mal. 

Je ne suis pas déçu de mon déplacement.

Sathorn Square Building et sa verrière surprenante...

bangkok-sathorn

Depuis la station BTS de Chong Nonsi, on peut apercevoir le Sathorn Square Building. Il s'agit d'un immeuble de bureaux de 41 étages situé à l'angle du carrefour Sathorn-Narathiwas, district de Bang Rak, près de la gare de Chong Nonsi, d'une superficie de 75 000 mètres carrés, divisé en 3 parties, qui sont des magasins et installations aux étages 1 à 3, bureaux aux étages 4 à 38. Du 39ème au 40ème étage se trouve le restaurant Shelawi.

L'immeuble en lui-même n'a rien d'exceptionnel... mais j'avais comme idée d'aller voir de plus près cette étrange réalisation de verre qui pourrait bien ressembler à une pointe de fusée... voire d'obus...  De l'extérieur comme ça, je dirais que cette verrière n'est pas moche et je trouve que la forme joliment arrondie ajoute un peu de fantaisie et de variation dans ce quartier très rigide... 

Curieux, je vais aller faire un tour à l'intérieur...

C'est le second point que j'avais prévu de photographier...

bangkok-sathorn
Quelques tables et fauteuils sont là, et vous pouvez tranquillement consommer un café dans cet endroit géré par la chaine américaine Starbucks...

bangkok-sathorn
au fur et à mesure qu'on lève les yeux... la vue devient vraiment amusante.

  The House On Sathorn...

bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn

The House On Stahorn est une grande et superbe maison d'environ 130 ans d'âge. Construite en 1889, 

En 1924, la maison a été transformée en hôtel "Hôtel Royal" et en 1934, elle a été rebaptisée "Hôtel Thaïlande". Plus tard dans les années 1948-1999, elle est devenue l'Ambassade de Russie pendant plus de 51 ans et en 2000, le Département des Beaux Arts a étudié et organisé un bâtiment pour la conservation architecturale.

A présent, cette maison fait partie du "W Bangkok"

W a entièrement rénové le bâtiment et l'a transformé en restaurant et bar sous le nom de The House on Sathorn.

bangkok-sathorn
Perdu au milieu des gratte-ciel de Bangkok dans ce quartier d'affaires, cette ancienne maison ajoute de la chaleur, un certain romantisme, voire une bouffée d'oxygène.  
bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn

 King Power Mahanakhon : clin d'oeil

bangkok-sathorn

King Power Maha Nakhon était le plus haut gratte-ciel de Thaïlande jusqu'à ce que le record soit battu le 8 avril 2018 par l'immeuble Magnolias Waterfront Residences à Icon Siam (hauteur 318,95 mètres).

Celui-ci est actuellement le 2ème immeuble le plus haut de Thaïlande avec une hauteur de 314,2 mètres, composé de 78 étages et composé d'hôtels, magasins et appartements.

Tout au sommet, au 78e étage, vous trouverez un "Roof Top" offrant une vue extraordinaire de la ville et aussi une plateforme de verre permettant de marcher au dessus du vide.

En fin d'article, vous trouverez une video vous montrant ce fameux roof top, ce que vous pouvez y faire, ce que vous pouvez y voir...

bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn
Depuis le sol... niveau 0.00, j'ai pu faire cette photo qui vous montre le Sky Walk
bangkok-sathorn
bangkok-sathorn

   Le roof top de la tour pixellisée...